empowering millions

UPSC Prelims 2023

Consider the following organizations/bodies in India - National Commission for Backward Classes, National Human Rights Commission, National Law Commission, National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission

Prelims General Studies Paper - 1

Jun 10, 2023

2 min read



Consider the following organizations/bodies in India:


1. The National Commission for Backward Classes

2. The National Human Rights Commission

3. The National Law Commission

4. The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission




How many of the above are constitutional bodies?


A. Only one

B. Only two

C. Only three

D. All four




The correct answer is A. Only one


The National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC) is a constitutional body in India under the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment, Government of India. It was established through the Constitution Act, 2018, also known as the 102nd Amendment Act, 2018. The commission operates under Article 338B of the Indian Constitution and was formed in accordance with the National Commission for Backward Classes Act, 1993.


The primary role of the commission is to actively participate in and advise on the socio-economic development of socially backward classes, also known as Other Backward Classes (OBCs). It evaluates the progress of their development and works towards their empowerment.


The establishment of the commission was a result of the Indra Sawhney & Others v. Union of India case. In this case, the Supreme Court of India directed the government to create a permanent body, like a commission or tribunal, to address requests for inclusion and complaints regarding the list of OBCs. The Supreme Court clarified that the Constitution recognized only social and educational backwardness, not economic backwardness.


According to Article 340 of the Indian Constitution, the President is responsible for establishing a commission to examine the conditions of social and backward classes. The composition of the commission includes a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, and three other Members, appointed by the President. The commission has the power to regulate its own procedure.

More on iasindepth